Manchester United News

The official lineup of Manchester United that will face Liverpool tonight

Cristiano Ronaldo and Harry Maguire will start sitting on the bench

By Harry Smith

Cristiano Ronaldo and Harry Maguire will start sitting on the bench
Cristiano Ronaldo and Harry Maguire will start sitting on the bench
Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

Manchester United have just announced the starting eleven Erik ten Hag has chosen for tonight’s fixture against Liverpool at Old Trafford. After losing his first two matches in charge of the club, the Dutch manager has decided to shake up the squad in order to finally get his first win against the Red Devils’ fiercest rivals.

Here’s the official lineup for tonight’s game: David De Gea (Gk), Diogo Dalot, Raphael Varane, Lisandro Martínez, Tyrell Malacia, Scott McTominay, Christian Eriksen, Bruno Fernandes (C), Jadon Sancho, Marcus Rashford and Anthony Elanga. This means the coach has made four adjustments from last week’s match.

More Man Utd news:

Bruno Fernandes wants to give something back to Manchester United fans
Manchester United want to sign this Europa League winner

Harry Maguire, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luke Shaw, and Fred have all been dropped from the team sheet. What is most surprising about this is that Ronaldo has started on the bench in two out of the first three Premier League fixtures. Also, as it was reported earlier, the team’s captain Harry Maguire will not play against Liverpool.

Another surprise in the lineup is the inclusion of Anthony Elanga over Cristiano and Anthony Martial. The youngster might be Erik ten Hag’s wildcard for tonight since he could bring something different to the table. Tyrell Malacia will also start for the first time for Manchester United. The 22-year-old left-back was the best thing coming out from Brentford’s match.

The opposition's lineup

Here is the team Jurgen Klopp has chosen to start against Manchester United at Old Trafford: Alisson Becker (Gk), Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joe Gomez, Virgil Van Dijk, Andrew Robertson, Jordan Henderson (C), James Milner, Harvey Elliot, Luis Díaz, Roberto Firmino, and Mohamed Salah.

More news